Taglyan Complex Hosts AAFCA Awards Ceremony

The seventh annual African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) Awards were held on February 10, 2016 at Taglyan Complex in Hollywood where hundreds gathered to celebrate excellence in television and film. A few of the night’s winners included John Singleton, Ryan Coogler and the casts of Straight Outta Compton and the television show Black-ish.

This year’s AAFCA Awards took place just a few weeks before the 88th Academy Awards, which has steered controversy by having only white actors and actresses nominated in the top four categories for the second year in a row, resulting in the trending social media hashtag #OscarsSoWhite. The stars at the AAFCA Awards said Wednesday night was their chance to be recognized for their work. “This year, a lot of people feel there were so many who were overlooked, who deserved to be seen, but were overlooked. And tonight is all about the fact that we’re able to say, ‘I see you. I see you young Coogler,'” actress Sheryl Lee Ralph said. Ralph referenced Ryan Coogler, who was named best director for “Creed” at the awards ceremony.

Highlights from the show held at Taglyan Complex were covered live on AAFCA’s social media channels; Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Founder of AAFCA, Gil Robertson speaks on the red carpet at the awards ceremony:  

Here is the complete list of the 2015 AAFCA Awards winners:

Best Picture: Straight Outta Compton

Best Director: Ryan Coogler – “Creed”

Best Ensemble: Straight Outta Compton

Best Actor: Will Smith “Concussion”

Best Actress: Teyonah Parris “Chi-Raq”

Best Supporting Actor: Jason Mitchell “Straight Outta Compton”

Best Supporting Actress: Tessa Thompson “Creed”

Best Independent Film: Chi-Raq

Best Screenplay:  Rick Famuyiwa, “Dope”

Breakout Performance: Michael B. Jordan “Creed”

Best Animation: The Peanuts Movie

Best Documentary: A Ballerina’s Tale

Best Song: “See You Again” Furious 7

Best TV Comedy: Black-ish

Best TV Drama: How to Get Away with Murder

Best Cable/New Media TV Show: Survivor’s Remorse

AAFCA Top Ten Films of 2015 are as follows in order of distinction:

1. Straight Outta Compton

2. Creed

3. Mad Max: Fury Road

4. Beasts of No Nation

5. The Martian

6. 3-1/2 Minutes/Dope

7. Chi-Raq

8. Carol

9. The Big Short

10. The Danish Girl

About the AAFCA

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) was founded in 2003 by Gil L. Robertson IV and Shawn Edwards. In December of 2003, AAFCA officially announced the start of its organization and released its first “Top Ten List.” The association reviews cinema overall, but also highlights films about the African-American experience. Members of AAFCA involve themselves in advocacy work for students interested in film, journalism and criticism. Each year, the organization gives out awards for a variety of categories, including best feature film, best documentary, best actor and best actress. In addition, it gives out an award for Special Achievement, which in the past has been given to Jamie Foxx and Spike Lee.